Skip to content

Handling my own shit

June 12, 2015

I believe myself to be an independent person. Yes, I have been falsely accused of being the type who needs a male to take care of her but i know for a fact that I am not that person. And I have never been that person and certainly don’t intend to be in the near or the far future. Today, I am writing on this topic because few days back I was in a situation something related to this only.  I met a friend’s date and my younger sister and her friends were also there and they are below 21 so no liquor for them but one of her friends managed to buy a pint of beer and manager got furious and wanted to take action. Now, I know for a fact that I could have handled that situation very peacefully but my friend insisted on her date to take care of the matter. I was sitting right there and listening to the conversation and suddenly said something and my dear friend shushed me and said “don’t worry he can handle it.” Emmmmm….. Ok! And how he handled it. Well he vouched for three of us and completely denied any familiarity with my sister and her friends. I found it to be a bit odd. But what really made me squirm was the fact that my friend shushed me. I could have handled it. So, now we come to the topic of handling my own shit. I have always been the person who is very independent and I prefer not to take anybody’s help unless there is nothing that I can do about it. I prefer traveling on my own. I don’t want my dates to pick or drop me back because I know how to travel and I am not a kid who cannot travel alone. This irritates me the most. I don’t want to be treated like a princess/ kid or whatever notion is in the head of people. Oh! I don’t believe this as a way of pampering someone, at least not me. At the end of the day,I want to be responsible for my own actions and I don’t like to find excuses and that’s what precisely happens when you let people do you a ‘favor’ yes that is termed as favor in my dictionary. I know I can handle my own shit. I always have. And I always will.

image

From → I WRITE!

2 Comments
  1. I look up to independent women like you! Glad you’re standing up for yourself!

read it...post a reply....

